Skip to content

You can use account and folder settings to keep your email inbox from getting overrun with comment and download notices from Box.

Set Your Default Notification Levels

  1. Click on your image or initials in the upper-right, then click Account Settings.
  2. Open the Sharing page and scroll to the Email Notifications section.
  3. Check the boxes for notifications you want to receive.

With the settings above, you would only get email notifications when something you own is deleted or someone comments. You will not get notifications on collaborations with the settings above.

Turn Up the Volume on Important Folders

On important folders, you can override your default notification settings and get an email as soon as changes happen.

  1. To modify folder settings, right-click on a folder (or click the ellipses (...)) to open the More Options menu, then click Settings
  2. Scroll down the the Email and Notification section.
Enable more notifications in the folder settings.

Folder owners can override notification delivery on collaborations, causing your options in the folder settings to be limited.

Last week, an article highlighted inadvertent data exposure by Box users at several large organizations. The issue is due to inappropriately set shared link permissions which may be the default set by their organization. They estimate that terabytes of sensitive information at hundreds of Box customers is exposed.

Pandora’s Box: Another New Way to Leak All Your Sensitive Data — Adversis

Our Box enterprise shared links default to “People in this folder/file,” restricting access to invited collaborators only and requiring users to choose to make the content available to the public by selecting the "Anyone with the link" option. Though we’ve received comments and complaints over the years about this “restrictive” setting, findings like this support our choice and ensure we minimize the chance of inadvertent data leakage.

Box for iOS and Box for Android include features for users who rely on their mobile phone or tablet while traveling or working out of the office. Over 100 file formats are supported by the content previewer, so many files can be viewed with no additional software. We will take a look at a few features that empower mobile users with access their content stored in Box.

Visit Tech Services KB: Box for Mobile, iPhone, Android to learn how to login to Box for mobile with your NetID and password.

Work Anywhere with Offline Access

With Box for iOS and Android, you can save files and folders from Box to your mobile device and access them when you're not online. To make a file or folder available offline, swipe right in list view, or choose Make Available Offline from the ellipsis (…) menu. Content marked for offline access is shown in the Offline section of the Box app.

screenshot of the tab bar section of the iOS app with Offline tab selected
Click the Offline tab to see content saved on the device

Upload Photos, Videos, and Other Files

The Box mobile app can upload new photos and videos automatically. Turn on Automatic Upload in the settings, choose a destination folder, and decide whether to include existing photos. Turn off Use Cellular Data to only upload when on wifi and keep uploads from consuming your data plan.

The Add (+) menu in the content browser lets you create folders, take photos to upload, upload existing photos, or create a new Box Note.

screen capture of uploading an audio note from the voice memos app to Box using share sheet

Best of all, you can use the iOS Share menu to upload files from many other apps to Box. Create and save a file in most applications, then use the Box action to upload.

In this example, an audio note from the Voice Memos app on iOS is uploaded to Box through the Share menu. Notice you can choose the destination folder and watch the upload progress bar.

Review your Favorite and Recently Accessed Files

Find Favorite and Recent content quickly

The best way to fight folder sprawl in Box is to mark your work-in-progress content as Favorites for quick access in the web and mobile apps. Use the Add to Favorites menu option, then you can visit the Favorites section in the mobile app to see your marked folders and docs. Your favorite items are also displayed in the sidebar of the web app.

Need to double check a figure in the document you just closed on your desktop? The Recents section contains the content you've accessed most recently, including files opened in other Box applications or on other devices.

References:

Data security also involves ensuring any business data is always available to the business.  Personnel changes, sickness, or other events can leave important files in your Box account unavailable to your colleagues, and they may not realize that until they really need it!

We've developed Box Team Folders to give teams and organizations a place to keep data that needs to be resilient to changes in unit personnel or project team members.

Some college and departmental IT teams manage Team Folders for their users. Please contact your local IT team to find out more.

See Technology Services KB: Information and Requesting Shared Team Folders for more information.

1

The users you invite to collaborate need to upload, open, and edit files, but should they delete or share the content with others?  Choosing the right collaborator permissions can save your data from deletion and other scares.

Table showing different permissions granted to View Uploader and Editor permissions in Box. Recommendation is Viewer Uploader permission.
Viewer Uploader permissions provide most functions collaborators need.

Our recommended permission level for most folder collaborations is Viewer Uploader. See the table above for some ways Viewer Uploader differs from Editor permissions.

When collaborating on a file directly, as opposed to a folder, the only permission level available is Editor.

See Box Community: Inviting Collaborators to learn more about adding collaborators to your project or unit folders in Box.

For the full table of permission levels and the actions they can perform, see Box Community: Understanding Collaborator Permission Levels.

1

The first things collaborators see is a folder's name. Include a reminder that this data is sensitive or only for a certain group in the folder's name to provide important context.

List of folders in Box Web with names that provide context
Folder names can give collaborators important context.

Including phrases like INTERNAL or PRIVATE give a clue that the contents should be handled carefullyEXTERNAL can mark folders shared with Box users outside of the university. Folders marked PUBLIC might be sent in email with an open Shared Link or embedded in a web page for anyone to access.

Screen capture of a folder description in Box Web describing the contents and audience of a folder.
A description can provide important context for your collaborators.

Adding a description of the folder or file contents can also provide clues to collaborators about how to handle the data. In the description, you can describe the intended audience and any restrictions on sharing.

See Box Community: Adding Descriptions to Folders and Files